The results are in, and the majority of the votes went to the multilayered chocolate extravaganza, the Pařížský dort (Parisian Cake)!

So! The shopping list: cream, cocoa, flour, butter, chocolate, and milk. (There’s a reference to pudding in the recipe, too–as a substitute for something–which I need to figure out.)

I’m also working on tying together both halves of this project; the other half, which is arriving from Colorado, in batches, includes recipes from my mom’s collection and going back to my great-grandmothers’ recipes. Many of these formed the basis for the cookbook my mom–acting as publisher, editor, and designer–made me as a wedding gift. It was the best gift ever: a book bursting with recipes solicited from friends and family, which I’ve consulted nearly every day since receiving it. Other items–winter coats, glassware, books–had to be left behind or shipped, when we moved each time, but that book has always been the first thing into my carry-on, wrapped in a shawl to protect it during the long hauls from the U.S., from Israel, and from Prague.

Among the great-grandmothers (on both the Czech and American sides) whose recipes underpin this project, there’s a heavy bias toward baked goods: pies, cakes, and cookies. One handwritten recipe, a trio of cakes (including a Lady Baltimore cake that I’m hoping to make) from my great-grandmother has a note at the top in her curly hand–“These are my specialties,” a résumé of sorts. First, the Pařížský dort, and then the Lady Baltimore cake!

It occurs to me that I don’t have a kitchen scale, a crucial piece of equipment to European bakers…

Here’s the one in my husband’s dad’s kitchen, in Žižkov, tucked away.

Kitchen scale in Prague

Kitchen scale in Prague

Et voilà: here it is, unfurled and in use (when I was making the incredibly tough French sugar tart):

DSCN0100

Recommendations for U.S. kitchen scales, anyone?

Incidentally, the second and last of my Jauntsetter posts is up: “Prague Nightlife: The Best Places to Eat, Drink, and Dance.” (I confess that I’ve spent way more time wandering around cafes and patisseries in the Letná neighborhood than I ever have at the Akropolis.)

